New York adds more states to COVID-19 travel advisory

2 min read


[responsivevoice_button rate=”1″ pitch=”1.2″ volume=”0.8″ voice=”US English Female” buttontext=”Story in Audio”]

New York adds more states to COVID-19 travel advisory


James Martin/CNET

New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo and New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy have added more states to their restricted list, meaning visitors from those states must self-quarantine for two weeks on arrival. The move comes as COVID-19 cases spike across the nation, with the spread of the coronavirus in Kansas, Oklahoma and Delaware now high enough for those states to be included on the list, with more than 10 positive tests per 100,000 residents.

“An outbreak anywhere is an outbreak everywhere,” Cuomo said. “We’re doing so many tests and so many tracings that we can trace it back to patient zero and they’re very often from out of state.”

Under the two states’ rules visitors, or residents returning, from California, Arizona, Texas, Nevada, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, South Carolina, North Carolina, Tennessee, Mississippi, Utah, Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa and Idaho must also self-isolate for 14 days when arriving in New York or New Jersey.

New York, which was once the epicenter of COVID-19 in the United States, is now tending downward in hospitalizations. 

“Our success was a function of our action,” said Cuomo, who also urged President Donald Trump to wear a mask.

The information contained in this article is for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended as health or medical advice. Always consult a physician or other qualified health provider regarding any questions you may have about a medical condition or health objectives.

You May Also Like